I talked to my Mom on the phone today. She’s been reading my blog, including my aikido injury reports, and suggested that maybe I should find some other discipline to try. As she pointed out, I’m not getting any younger, and I haven’t been doing sports or other activities during my life so far to build up to this. Most of my aikido writings *have* been focusing on how I hurt myself, or how sore I am, or how bad I got my ass handed to me.
The thing is, though, that I want to be better. I want to test for rank in October. I’m not sure I’ll be able to do it, since I have to have thirty hours logged at the dojo to qualify… but I’d like to try. I want to be limber. I want to be strong. I want to be able to do crazy ukemi acrobatics without fucking pulling my groin.
A month ago, I would have taken this suggestion as a godsend β you’re absolutely right. It’s too hard. I’ll tell Sensei I’m done. Now, though… I guess I do need to talk to Sensei, but I need to ask him what I should be doing to practice ukemi at home without hurting myself.
It feels like dancing, like art, except that I don’t know all the steps. It still feels like it should make sense, if only I had the muscle memory and the strength and the knowledge. I know that’s what practice is for, but it’s frustrating that I keep trying to learn, but I feel like I’m limited physically rather than mentally. It’s not a limitation I’m used to dealing with; I’m used to learning something, and it being learned. The end. I’m not used to imagining my position in space and time (and midair) and maneuvering myself in a certain way and not knowing whether I can even physically *do* what I’m supposed to do, let alone coordinate my mind and my muscles to do it.
This is why I joined the dojo, though, isn’t it? To open up my comfort zone? To become more disciplined?
I want to practice here at home, but I don’t want to hurt myself again and delay my return to class. Maybe I’ll e-mail Sensei before Wednesday and see if he has any words of wisdom for me.
Update, 7:30pm: I sent an e-mail to Sensei, letting him know what had happened and why I haven’t been at the dojo. I also asked him if I should lay off until I heal, or just come in and do what I can, but then I deemed my question silly (yes, all in the e-mail) and told him I’d be at the dojo on Wednesday. We’ll see if he responds, or if he just greets me on Wednesday like nothing ever happened.