My DietBet Epiphany

My weight loss journey has been slow going. I lost a shit-ton (about 50 pounds) fairly quickly on the Atkins Diet about ten years ago, and only gained back a small fraction of that. Almost five years ago, I joined Weight Watchers to take off the few pounds I’d put back on, and to get the momentum going again, since I still had about 40 pounds to go to reach my goal weight.

Diana at Waikiki

In the five years I’ve been on program with WW, I’ve gone through a few up and down cycles. I lost 15 pounds in three months when I first joined, and that was the steepest loss I’ve seen since. After that, I took six months to lose five pounds, then gained back ten pounds in eight months, then re-lost those ten pounds over the following year. Then I got pregnant, and lost a relatively quick five pounds in that first couple of months before I realized I was expecting. My post-pregnancy weigh-in actually wasn’t so bad — then I gained five pounds and didn’t lose it for a good six months. I’m finally back down to my lowest weight (not counting the pre-pregnancy baby hormone bonus weight loss), but it’s been really, REALLY slow going.

So, when my favorite diet and fitness blogger, Roni Noone of Roni’s Weigh, announced that she was hosting another DietBet game, I decided that, this time, I’d jump on board. Maybe what I needed was some incentive. Maybe I’d have that extra oomph if I had the promise of a payout at the end for losing 4% of my body weight in a month. I realized that losing seven pounds in a month was a big stretch for me, looking at my track record of weekly half-pound losses in a good month, but i figured I’d give it a shot, anyway.

Continue reading

Operation Braceface: Day 92

My second adjustment! Today, we added chains to the bottom teeth.

And, yes, I opted to go all St. Patrick’s Day with my “colors.” I wasn’t sure what I’d think of them, but I figured I should have fun with them at least once. So far, after six or seven hours, I’m not sick of them yet, so that’s a good thing.

I think the orthodontist’s assistant was a little weirded out when I told her that I’d been looking forward to getting my chains put on. After I explained that I’d done some research and found an online community of adults with braces, she did note that adult patients tend to be more interested in the mechanics of the braces: how the teeth move into place, how the wires and chains and coils do their thing, all that good stuff.

A couple of my friends and co-workers have already noticed that my top teeth are starting to straighten out. I think it’s because I show my top teeth when I smile, but my bottom ones stay hidden. My bottom teeth have actually moved pretty well themselves.

Yeah, they’re still kind of gnarly. But! There’s a lot more space in front of that middle tooth now, and the spots from the extractions are visibly smaller. There used to be a couple that were overlapped and turned funny, too, but now they’re pretty much in a line (except that one, of course).

See the coil in front of that middle tooth? That’s a stronger coil than they put on last time — you can actually see it bowing outward. They also changed my bottom wire from a 14 (I think) to an 18, which means it’s stronger and will more aggressively pull my teeth into alignment. The chains on the sides will pull that gap closed on either side, too, giving that little tooth even more room to join its friends in the front row. Maybe I’ll get to have a bracket put on that one next time…

During today’s wire and coil change, one of my bottom brackets popped off! The assistant said she hadn’t had a bracket pop off in years. That added a bit of a wait to my otherwise no-nonsense adjustment — my half-hour stretched out to 45 minutes or so.

So, there was a lot of attention paid to my bottom teeth, but not so much to the top. No wire change there, just colors. Sounds like Dr. N. is focusing on the bottom teeth right now, since there’s more remediation still to happen with that one overlapped tooth, and going slow and steady with the top teeth. The assistant noticed that my one top tooth still hasn’t rotated into place yet, and it seems that we’re going to let it very slowly do its thing. The orthodontist might be more assertive with that later; he hasn’t really given me any future details about what’s happening when. (Assumedly because he won’t be sure until he sees how my teeth move from one visit to the next.)

The assistant who worked with me today warned me that my mouth will be sore for the next day or two. So far, it’s no more sore than usual, but that might change. Every time my teeth hurt, I remind myself that this is what I signed up for, and that the end result will be worth it.

And I’m not just blowing smoke. I’m genuinely still excited about having braces.

Operation Braceface: Day 50

My first adjustment!

I had my “fours” (aka my first premolars) extracted on Day 22 to make room for the rest of my teeth, and I had intended to blog about it… but I didn’t. So, the Reader’s Digest version of that experience: my entire mouth was numb for about five hours. I had to pulverize my Motrin and shoot it with a glass of water, because I couldn’t really swallow. The bleeding stopped on the second day, and the holes closed up within a few days. The pain wasn’t really so bad; I only took Vicodin to sleep, and only for the first two nights.

The photo above is to show off my new hardware: full archwires, bumpers, and a coil. The bumpers (the gray rubber bars) are to keep the long stretches of wire from irritating the inside of my cheek until that big gap closes up — or until I get chains put on, instead. The coil is to gently coax those front two teeth apart to make room for the one that’s behind the rest. It’s definitely adding some new pressure.

My mouth is sore, yes, but not as sore as when the braces first went on. I don’t think. Maybe I’m just getting used to it. I’m remembering what it was like when I was a little kid with no front teeth, and I used to bite hot dogs with my molars. Eating is kind of like that right now.

Oddly enough, I’ve been showing off my new tooth gaps to anyone who will listen. You’d think I’d be self-conscious about it; instead, I feel like I’m showing off a new upgrade or something. “Look how awesome my mouth will be in 2+ years, compared to now! w00t!” I think it’s partially because I’ve browsed the forums and gallery at Archwired.com and have realized that other people started with waaaay worse teeth than I did.

I get my routine cleaning in a couple of weeks, and I’m curious about how different it will be with all this hardware in my mouth. I’m trying to keep everything clean, but I know I could be more vigilant. Flossing daily and all that, despite how tedious the process is now. (I bought myself a water flosser, but I have yet to figure out how to use it without making a giant mess of water on the vanity and making my gums bleed to boot.)

Even with the discomfort in my mouth, I’m liking having braces so far. It feels like I’m doing something for me, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. Something that will totally be worth it in the end.

Race Report: 2012 Jingle Bell Run 5K

Wait, you’re saying to yourself. Didn’t she say that her chiropractor made her swear off running?

Technically, yes.

But the 2010 Jingle Bell Run was my first-ever 5K, and the 2011 Jingle Bell Run was my triumphant return to running after having a baby, so the 2012 Jingle Bell Run felt like a necessity. It’s my runniversary.

Because I’d been so carefully following my chiropractor’s advice, and hadn’t actually been out running since July, I’d gone out running with Sheryl once a week for the past month, just to make sure I still had it. The race would be the proof of my functional fitness — do I really have a 5K in my pocket when I want it?

Continue reading

30 Days

My friend Stephanie set out a challenge on her website, Live and Tri:

Christmas is 30 days from today. Feel free to panic.

Done? Alright, now I will tell you of my plan for the next 30 days.

My eating habits have been a bit off the last month. Between travel, the husband travelling for work, and the Thanksgiving holiday, there has been a lot of eating out, eating excuses, and overeating. Nothing major, I can’t say that it’s bad. It’s just that I want to refocus for the next month before the holidays.

So, here’s the plan. The challenge, if you will. 30 days meeting 3 goals each day.

I fully intend to keep myself honest, and be obnoxious on Twitter about it.

Feel free to join me, set your own goals, and commit to a healthy pre-holiday month!

I’m going to take her up on this. While I haven’t been precisely bad lately, I also haven’t exactly been on my best and healthiest behavior. I always used to joke with my Weight Watchers buddies that I’ll be great at Maintenance, once I finally reach my Goal weight, since I seem to be so good at it now. And that’s what I’m doing right now. Maintaining. Not actually gaining any ground.

So, here are my four goals, of which I will be sure to meet at least three per day:

  1. Track everything I eat, every day. My current plan of choice is Weight Watchers, and I have no excuse not to track, since I have eTools right on my iPhone (which virtually never leaves my person). I have a tendency to track when it’s convenient (during the week, when I pack my lunch) and freeform it when tracking isn’t quite as convenient (on the weekends, or when I go out with my department for lunch, or when I have an evening snackie binge). Accountability is the key.
  2. Exercise every day. I spend lunch on Tuesdays attending a yoga class with my girl Sheryl, and we spend lunch on Thursdays lifting weights like the badasses we are. On Mondays, I’ve been running with Sheryl, but that will soon return to either walking or hitting the elliptical. Every other day is currently a “rest” day — but no more. If nothing else, I’ll be doing 20 minutes of yoga after Connor goes to bed. Weekends, too, although I think a nice brisk walk around the mall with the fam would count.
  3. Lights out before 11:00pm. This is my downfall. I get caught up in whatever I’m doing after I put Connor down, whether I’m twiddling on the computer or on my phone, and I totally lose track of time. Then when I finally get up to bed, I take more time to play on the phone before I turn out the lights and try to sleep. I need my beauty rest. (Especially this month, when I need to go in to work early to offset leaving early so that Aaron can leave early to go to his work.) I’ve been using the Sleep Time app this past month to track my sleep habits (as recommended by blogger Foodie McBody), and it’s definitely been helpful in identifying what helps me wake feeling more rested… including getting to bed at a decent time, so I get some quality cycles in early in the night.
  4. Eat at least one serving of fruits or vegetables with every meal. This seems like a “duh” sort of thing to anyone who’s familiar with the Weight Watchers plan, I’m sure. A big part of Weight Watchers is eating fruits and veggies, so much so that in the current incarnation of the plan, they’re “free” — that is, zero PointsPlus. I’m supposed to be eating at least five or six half-cup servings a day, but sometimes I only manage to rock a banana for my pre-workout snack and a snack cup of applesauce with lunch. I’m going to be sure to eat a full serving of fruits or veggies with every meal for these 30 days: breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I’ve been spamming Twitter with my #thankfulproject Instagram photos this month, so hopefully my tweeps won’t mind another 30 days of dailiness. An accountability-based challenge may be just what I need to get myself into gear.

Let’s do this!